The best managed IT providers in Melbourne for a 30-to-300-person business are the ones whose own website answers three questions before you ring them: who pays to fix what the audit finds, what hours a human actually answers, and what the compliance offer names. On that test, nine providers serving Melbourne sort themselves quickly. inSUPPORT is one of them, so the method is the fairness mechanism: every claim here is quoted from that provider's own live pages, read on 18 September 2026, with the whole-site findings re-read on 22 September 2026. Behind this page sit more than 1,500 cyber audits.
If you are the CFO holding the current agreement, you probably arrived worn down rather than panicked. The fee gets paid, the tickets get answered, and then a quote turns up for something you assumed you were covered for.
The words on those pages are nearly identical and the commercial structures underneath them are not. One prices security as a separate plan, one scopes any uplift as a project quoted before the agreement starts, one folds baseline controls into every agreement, and one includes the audit's remediation in the support fee.
Each entry below follows the same four parts: who the provider says it suits, what its site says about remediation and fees, what hours and compliance offer it publishes, and where it falls short or stays silent. Read that last part everywhere, including ours, because the silence is where the second invoice lives.
TL;DR: What to remember
- ✅ Nine providers serve Melbourne businesses in the 30-to-300-user range with security in the offer, and each is read here from its own pages on 18 September 2026, with the whole-site findings re-read on 22 September 2026 and nothing carried over from memory or a review site.
- ✅ The sorting question is who pays to fix what the audit finds. Answers on the nine sites range from remediation inside the support fee, to baseline controls built into every agreement, to uplift scoped as a separate project, to a page that does not say.
- ✅ Support hours are a product decision, not a courtesy. Business hours, 7am to 7pm, 24/7 and retail-shaped cover all appear on this list, and the tier written into your agreement decides whether anyone answers on a Saturday.
- ✅ No provider's price appears here except inSUPPORT's own published support fee, because fees in this market change and the only figure this page can vouch for is its own.
- ✅ Three of the nine state ISO 27001 certification and one states SMB1001 Gold on its own pricing page. Everyone else says aligned, which is the accurate word for the Essential Eight, because ASD says there is no requirement to have an implementation certified independently unless a directive, a regulator or a contract asks for it.
Contents
- How this list was built, and who built it
- The test that sorts the list: who pays to fix what the audit finds
- 1. inSUPPORT: Best for remediation inside the fee and one team across IT, compliance and insurance
- 2. CX IT Services: Best for a published price list and support hours chosen separately from security
- 3. Otto IT: Best for a 24/7 security operations centre with four ISO certifications behind it
- 4. KMTech: Best for a security-led model that scales from 25 staff into the hundreds
- 5. Black Lantern: Best for month-to-month terms and a 24/7 phone that a Melbourne team answers
- 6. Agile IT: Best for a 5-to-50-person firm that wants every uplift priced before it commits
- 7. Emerging IT: Best for a 30-day rolling agreement and a local team across Melbourne and Sydney
- 8. CTS: Best for senior Melbourne engineers only and a 30-minute critical response at any hour
- 9. Computer One: Best for a mid-sized business with sites in more than one state
- How to choose from this list without regret
- Questions Melbourne CFOs ask when they shortlist a managed IT provider
How this list was built, and who built it
This page is published by inSUPPORT, which sits at number one on it, so you are entitled to know the rules. The candidate list came from what AI assistants currently recommend when asked for the best managed IT providers in Melbourne for a business of about 50 staff, filtered to providers whose own pages say they serve Melbourne businesses in or around the 30-to-300-user range. Every claim below was read from the provider's own live pages on 18 September 2026, and every statement about what a whole site does or does not publish was re-checked on 22 September 2026 by reading that site's own sitemap page by page. Each page is linked in the citations. Nothing is quoted from a directory, a ranking blog or an older article.
Three things were deliberately left out. Other providers' prices are not printed, even where a site publishes them, because fees move and a comparison table is stale the week it goes up; the only fee this page can vouch for is its own. Enterprise-scale players were read and excluded on their own words: CyberCX describes partnering with enterprise and government organisations, and Insicon Cyber describes tailored support for medium and large enterprises from North Sydney. Sydney-only providers were excluded the same way: Milnsbridge states plainly it is not the right fit for businesses outside Sydney, and CyberPulse publishes a Sydney address, weekday opening hours in its own site data, and a page titled around cyber security audit and penetration testing rather than a managed helpdesk.
The ranking test is the one a CFO can run without a technical translator. First, when the onboarding audit finds problems, who pays to fix them, in writing on the provider's own site. Second, what hours a person answers, against your trading hours rather than an office week. Third, what the compliance offer actually names: the framework, the scope and whether the provider says certified or aligned. The Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) publishes its own short list of questions to ask a managed service provider, aimed at the provider's own security practice, and it belongs alongside these three.
The test that sorts the list: who pays to fix what the audit finds
This is the most useful list on the page, because a provider that bills the audit and then bills the fix has a different incentive from one that carries the fix inside the fee, and the difference does not show up in the marketing. Neither model is dishonest. A separately quoted uplift can be the right answer when you want to see every dollar before you commit, and remediation inside the fee earns its keep when the gap list is long and you would rather it never became a project. You just need to know which one you are signing. Here is what each site says today, in its own words where it has them:
- inSUPPORT: "The remediation your audit finds is included in your support fee, not billed back as a surprise project." Insurance, backup and security-awareness training are separate, clearly quoted line items.
- CX IT Services: cyber security is "included as standard" in every managed IT agreement and Essential Eight alignment is "maintained as an ongoing managed service"; the pricing page keeps cyber and support as two separately chosen parts of one invoice.
- Otto IT: security is delivered through its cybersecurity plans, and its FAQ says clients "who subscribe to our cybersecurity plans achieve Australian Essential 8 Level 2". Whether audit findings are remediated inside a plan is not stated.
- KMTech: fixed monthly pricing with Essential Eight as the baseline standard; large IT projects such as migrations and rebuilds are listed as typically not included.
- Black Lantern: fixed monthly per-user pricing with backups "included in the base rate"; major project work such as migrations or refits is listed as not included.
- Agile IT: "If anything needs to change to bring your environment up to standard, that work is scoped and quoted as a separate project, agreed before the managed service begins." That is a boundary in a sentence, written down before you sign, which is what the rest of this test is trying to get at.
- Emerging IT: two managed tiers with patching, endpoint, email and web security listed inside the managed cyber security column, and additional managed security features available as add-ons. Remediation of Essential Eight audit findings is not addressed.
- CTS: Essential Eight controls are "built into every managed IT agreement, not sold as add-ons", with no hourly rates, no call-out fees and no variable charges.
- Computer One: fixed fees under a structured managed services agreement, with backup testing, incident response and on-site attendance named as covered. The page does not say how security uplift work is treated.
1. inSUPPORT: Best for remediation inside the fee and one team across IT, compliance and insurance
Who it suits: an Australian business of roughly 30 to 300 users, Melbourne-based or run from Melbourne, that already has a provider and has stopped trusting what the monthly fee buys. The typical signal is a five-figure audit quote followed by a second quote to fix what it found. This is the model built to end that sequence, and the reader it fits is the one who wants the sequence gone rather than discounted.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: support is a flat monthly per-user fee, published as Business from $68, Retail $100 and Complete 24/7 $135 per user per month on the IT support pricing page, and those figures are the support component only. The remediation the onboarding audit finds is included in that fee rather than billed back as a separate project. Cyber insurance, backup and security-awareness training are separate line items on the quote, named and priced so nothing is buried.
Hours and compliance offer: hours are set by tier. Business runs Monday to Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm, Retail adds Thursday and Friday to 9:00pm and Saturday morning because the company came out of retail IT, and Complete runs 24 hours a day, seven days a week on a follow-the-sun desk. Environments are aligned to the compliance frameworks that apply to the industry, the Essential Eight among them, with the evidence documented; the company is ISO 27001-aligned and helps clients work toward certification rather than claiming its own. Cyber insurance is arranged through licensed insurance partners and underwritten by some of the world's most reputable insurers, included in your plan, with cover subject to the insurer's assessment.
Where it falls short or is silent: delivery is remote-first. The site describes attending your site during onboarding to document how you operate, and says the need to attend afterwards should be minimal, so a business that wants a technician in the building every week is buying the wrong shape. Below about 30 users the economics do not work and the company says so; the entry point there is the audit, not the support contract. And a business that wants to keep its own stack and direct the work will not enjoy the onboarding, because the controls are standardised and exceptions are treated as risk. No price is published for the audit or any add-on, which is a fair thing to ask about first.
2. CX IT Services: Best for a published price list and support hours chosen separately from security
Who it suits: Melbourne businesses with 10 to 200 staff, by its own description, headquartered in the Melbourne CBD and pitched at professional services firms that cannot afford downtime. It is a size match for most of the 30-to-300 range and the site says on-site visits are included from 30 users.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: of the nine pages read for this article, three publish their rates in full rather than inviting you to ask, and this is one of them. That deserves the credit. Pricing is published per person in four parts on one invoice, with cyber security mandatory on every plan and chosen as an Essential Eight maturity level separately from the support tier, and the site says plainly that it keeps cyber and support separate so your security posture is driven by your obligations, not your support preferences. Cyber security tools are described as standard inclusions in every agreement, and Essential Eight alignment as an ongoing managed service with quarterly maturity reviews.
Hours and compliance offer: three support windows are published, business hours, extended 7am to 7pm, and 24/7, with a one-hour response target and most requests answered within 15 minutes. The compliance offer names Essential Eight maturity levels one to three and SMB1001 certification through the CyberCert platform. Two of its pages describe that standard in two different ways, and the difference is worth holding onto, because it is the difference between what a provider does for you and what a provider holds itself. The SMB1001 service page says "CX IT Services is a certified CyberCert partner, meaning we are authorised to guide businesses through the SMB1001:2026 certification process on the CyberCert platform", which describes the service. The pricing page FAQ, answering the question "Are you accredited?", says "Yes. CX IT Services holds SMB1001:2026 Gold Certification and follows Level 2 of the Essential Eight framework across our service delivery", which describes the firm. Both are its own published words, neither is reported here as the other, and a certification a provider says it holds is one you verify with the certifying body rather than with the provider. The site also says it builds cyber insurance evidence packs and can complete insurer questionnaires on a client's behalf.
Where it falls short or is silent: the page describes a 30-day rapid security uplift programme for businesses told by an insurer to improve before renewal, and does not say whether the remediation of an inherited environment's existing gaps sits inside the monthly fee or inside that programme. Ask that question in writing. The per-user rate is also stated not to fall as headcount rises, which is worth modelling at 150 users before you compare.
3. Otto IT: Best for a 24/7 security operations centre with four ISO certifications behind it
Who it suits: the managed IT page addresses "a growing SME in Australia or an established business with an in-house IT support team", which is the closest thing to a size band on any Otto page read for this article, so a 30-to-300-user business is inside the description without being named by it. Otto is headquartered in Northcote and its home page states "231+ Local Australian Clients & Counting Since 2004", with Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth also listed.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: pricing is described as transparent and fixed monthly with no hidden fees, tailored to business size and coverage. Security is a distinct service line: the managed IT FAQ says clients who subscribe to its cybersecurity plans achieve Essential 8 Level 2, which tells you security is bought as a plan alongside support. Onboarding is described as including a full audit and documentation handover.
Hours and compliance offer: a 24/7 IT support team and a 24/7 security operations centre, with the site reporting 97 per cent of cyber incidents resolved within 30 minutes in 2025. The company states ISO 45001, 27001, 9001 and 14001 certification, and it names the Essential Eight, ISO 27001 and the Privacy Act as compliance work it supports.
Where it falls short or is silent: across every page read for this article, including the service pages and the blog, the site never says whether audit findings are remediated inside a plan or quoted separately, and its own FAQ says pricing is tailored, so you will not know the shape of the fee until the proposal arrives. Cyber insurance appears as one of the pressures the security service addresses rather than as a pathway the company coordinates. If you want the commercial boundary drawn before the first call, this is not the page that draws it.
4. KMTech: Best for a security-led model that scales from 25 staff into the hundreds
Who it suits: organisations of 25 to 1,000 staff that want a strategic, fully outsourced IT department, by the managed services page's own description, run from a Melbourne headquarters with offices in Sydney, Brisbane and Hobart. Its published band runs well past the top of this article's range, so a business expecting to grow through 300 users does not age out of the stated audience.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: fixed monthly pricing, per user, with the Essential Eight maturity model named as the baseline standard and ISO 27001 and NIST named as the global references. The page lists large IT projects such as migrations, rebuilds and office moves as typically not included in the managed service, so plan on those being scoped separately.
Hours and compliance offer: 24/7 or business-hour support coverage with defined SLAs for response and resolution, plus a 24/7 security operations centre with SLA-backed response. The homepage states ISO 27001, 9001, 14001 and 45001 certification and Essential Eight Maturity Level 2 or higher alignment, which is a specific and checkable pairing.
Where it falls short or is silent: cyber insurance is covered thoroughly as education and readiness rather than offered as a pathway KMTech arranges. A read of every page in its sitemap on 22 September 2026, 474 of them, found insurance on 60, including a full cyber insurance guide for Australian businesses that offers to "Book a Cyber Risk & Insurance Readiness Review" and to "Arrange a Cyber Risk & Insurance Briefing for Executives", and a vCIO page listing "Prepare for cyber insurance requirements" as an outcome. What no page states is who arranges the cover itself, and the guide advises working with your own broker, so the readiness work and the policy come from two places rather than one. The stated floor is 25 staff while the enterprise-standards language reads upward, so a business at the bottom of that band should ask whether it gets the same named team as one at the top.
5. Black Lantern: Best for month-to-month terms and a 24/7 phone that a Melbourne team answers
Who it suits: small and mid-sized Melbourne businesses of 5 to 250 staff, based in the Melbourne CBD and deliberately boutique, with a director who describes 27 years in managed services and a small book of clients by design.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: fixed monthly per-user pricing with no ticket-based charges, and the managed IT page lists backups as included in the base rate, which is a line item inSUPPORT quotes separately. What is not included is also listed: third-party licences, hardware, major project work such as migrations or refits, and specialist consulting. On-site time is typically quoted separately. A free IT and cyber audit is offered before any proposal, and the site says you get the report either way.
Hours and compliance offer: phones answered 24/7/365 with the site stating a five-minute average response for critical issues, and the same response times overnight. Security is described as cyber-first, with Essential Eight alignment by default, managed EDR, security awareness training and quarterly tested restores. Agreements are month-to-month with no lock-in.
Where it falls short or is silent: the line between the remediation of audit findings and major project work is not drawn on the page, and that is exactly the line that decides whether a long gap list becomes a quote. The site describes Essential Eight practices as aligned, not certified, which is the accurate word. Cyber insurance appears across its cyber security pages as a reason to do the work rather than as a service it arranges: Essential Eight alignment is described as "increasingly a requirement for government tenders, cyber insurance, and enterprise contracts", the IT consulting page lists "Cyber Insurance Readiness" and "cyber insurance readiness reviews", and the DMARC page notes that "some cyber insurance policies now list DMARC enforcement as a prerequisite". Nothing on the site offers to arrange a policy; the awareness-training page points the other way, describing its reporting as ready to hand to leadership or "your insurance broker".
6. Agile IT: Best for a 5-to-50-person firm that wants every uplift priced before it commits
Who it suits: businesses of roughly 5 to 50 office staff across Melbourne and the Mornington Peninsula, family-owned since 2007 with offices in Mornington and East Melbourne. It is the right size for the bottom third of the 30-to-300 range and says so itself.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: two per-user tiers, a remote-delivered CORE and a COMPLETE tier that adds on-site support, managed servers and a 24/7 network operations centre, with a separately priced cyber security service aligned to the SMB1001 maturity framework. The candour is the selling point: the site says any work needed to bring your environment up to standard is scoped and quoted as a separate project, agreed before the managed service begins, and that a one-off onboarding fee is estimated up front. You see the whole bill before you sign.
Hours and compliance offer: business hours Monday to Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm with after-hours emergency support available, and a 24/7 network operations centre watching servers and critical systems on the COMPLETE tier. The security service is aligned to the SMB1001 maturity framework, and the site publishes its own ASD Essential Eight explainer describing eight controls and three maturity levels, with the advice to aim for Maturity Level 1 first.
Where it falls short or is silent: the stated sweet spot stops at about 50 staff, and the model prices uplift as a project by design, which is the opposite structure from remediation inside the fee. For a business with a short gap list and a preference for seeing every line, that is a feature. For a business with a long inherited list, it is a second budget conversation before the first one has finished.
7. Emerging IT: Best for a 30-day rolling agreement and a local team across Melbourne and Sydney
Who it suits: growing businesses with 15 or more employees in Melbourne and Sydney that want a fully Australian team and no long contract. The site describes 25 years in business and more than 500 Australian businesses supported.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: two managed tiers, LANserve Essentials and LANserve Complete, with infrastructure monitoring, backup monitoring, documentation and quarterly on-site visits in the managed column, and patch management, endpoint security and email and web filtering in the managed cyber security column. Additional managed security features, 24/7 support and cybersecurity consultation are described as add-ons. Agreements are 30-day rolling, which the site frames as keeping the client by earning it.
Hours and compliance offer: the managed services page does not carry a support window, but the service desk page does, and it starts earlier than an office week: "Our Support teams are available from 7am to 7pm AEST every business day, with the option for 24-hour and weekend support if needed." The same page adds that it can tailor those hours to a client's own business hours, and 24/7 support appears in the add-on column rather than inside a tier. The compliance offer is an Essential Eight Audit built on the ACSC maturity level framework, alongside vulnerability, password, and identity and access assessments, and penetration testing.
Where it falls short or is silent: the Essential Eight Audit is listed as an assessment service, and nothing across the site says whether fixing what that audit finds sits inside a LANserve tier or arrives as a project. No target maturity level is stated for its own clients; the maturity levels appear only in explanatory content. Cyber insurance appears the same way, in articles describing it as increasingly tied to measurable security maturity, not as something the company arranges. The 7am start is genuinely useful for an early-trading business, and the weekend question needs the add-on conversation.
8. CTS: Best for senior Melbourne engineers only and a 30-minute critical response at any hour
Who it suits: Melbourne small and medium businesses in regulated work, finance, legal, accounting, mortgage broking, healthcare and property advisory by the site's own list, from a provider established in 2000 and still fully Melbourne-based on Collins Street.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: a flat per-user monthly model that includes unlimited helpdesk, 24/7 monitoring, automated patching, Essential Eight cyber security and Microsoft 365 management, with no hourly rates, no call-out fees and no variable charges. The security statement is specific: MFA enforcement, managed EDR, email security, application hardening and a quarterly compliance roadmap are built into every managed IT agreement, not sold as add-ons.
Hours and compliance offer: the contact page publishes Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:30pm AEST, and the FAQ adds that after-hours P1 critical support is available 24 hours a day for managed IT clients with no after-hours premiums. On top of that sits a 30-minute critical incident SLA with P1 response guaranteed at any hour, a standard four-hour SLA with same-day on-site dispatch across metropolitan Melbourne, and every request handled by a senior Melbourne engineer. The site describes ACSC Essential Eight alignment and ISO 27001 practices, and it publishes resources on cyber insurance for Melbourne SMBs and a renewal checklist.
Where it falls short or is silent: the site says "ISO 27001 practices" rather than certification, which is the honest word and worth confirming means aligned. The published size band also sits under the top of this article's range: the FAQ answers "What size businesses does CTS support?" with "Businesses from 10 to 200 users", and sets the minimum at 10 users, so a 250-user business is above the band it advertises. And whether a long list of inherited gaps beyond those baseline controls is remediated inside the fee is not addressed anywhere on the site.
9. Computer One: Best for a mid-sized business with sites in more than one state
Who it suits: "mid-sized Australian organisations with 50 to 1,000 staff", in the managed IT page's own words, served by dedicated local teams in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne, with the Melbourne office on Lonsdale Street. It is the provider here most suited to a business whose users are spread across states, and the only one whose published floor sits above the bottom of the 30-to-300 range.
What its own site says about remediation and fees: fixed fees under a structured managed services agreement with predictable monthly costs aligned to defined service levels, covering Level 1 to 3 service desk support, backup testing and restoration, incident response, on-site attendance and extended service hours. The site describes 38 full-time staff and more than 50 specialists around the country, and states ISO 27001 and ISO 9001 certification.
Hours and compliance offer: 24/7 expert support under the agreement, a service desk that aims to respond within 60 seconds, and security services aligned with the ACSC Essential Eight and other frameworks, with Essential Eight maturity assessments and ISO 27001 consulting offered as separate services.
Where it falls short or is silent: a 30-to-49-user business sits below the published floor, so that is the first question to put rather than the last. No per-user model is published either, so the shape of the fee only appears at proposal, and the page does not say how security uplift found by an Essential Eight maturity assessment is treated, since those assessments and ISO 27001 consulting are listed as their own services. Cyber insurance appears across the site as context rather than as an offer: the Essential Eight maturity page answers how Essential Eight compliance affects cyber insurance eligibility and premiums, and the incident response page says evidence is documented forensically so it can support legal proceedings or insurance claims. What no page does is offer to arrange cover, so that pathway is a conversation to have somewhere else.
How to choose from this list without regret
Start with the money, because everything else is downstream of it. Put the fee model of your top three in one column and the answer to who pays for remediation in the next, and insist on the second answer as a clause, not a sentence in a sales call. Our twelve questions to ask before you renew give you the full conversation, and the first four are the commercial ones. If a provider on this list left that question silent on its website, it will answer it in a proposal, and the answer belongs in the agreement.
Then match the hours to your trading week rather than to an office week. ASD's own year in review for 2024 to 2025 puts the national volume at a rate of one cybercrime report every six minutes, and puts what it costs a small business that reports one at an average of $56,600, a figure that climbed 14 per cent in a single year. The provider whose desk closes at 5:30pm is not wrong to close, but a Saturday fault can be an ordinary fault or the first visible sign of something worse, and what you are buying is someone who can tell the difference before Monday.
Read the compliance words literally. ASD's own guidance says there is no requirement to have an Essential Eight implementation certified by an independent party, and in the same breath says an implementation may still need to be assessed by an independent party where a government directive or policy, a regulatory authority or a contract requires it. So a provider saying aligned is being accurate, a provider saying certified about the Essential Eight is saying something ASD does not recognise, and if a client contract or a regulator has put independent assessment on you, that is a separate obligation to raise on the first call. ASD describes the Essential Eight as a minimum set of preventative measures with four maturity levels, Zero to Three, and it has consulted on evolving that guidance into a broader Essentials series; that consultation closed on 12 July 2026 and no changed requirement has been published, so the current maturity model is what a provider should be working to today. ISO 27001 and SMB1001 are different: those certifications genuinely exist and are held by an organisation rather than implemented for one. Three providers here state ISO 27001 certification and one states SMB1001 Gold, and each of those is checkable with the certifying body rather than with the provider, which is the question to ask. The rest, ours included, should say aligned and mean it.
Finally, plan the switch before you give notice. A change of provider for a 30-to-300-user business runs four to eight weeks from decision to clean handover, and the expensive mistakes are access nobody wrote down, a backup nobody tested and a licence in the old provider's name. Our guide to how long it takes to change IT providers walks through the order. Whichever name on this list you shortlist, the managed IT services model you are leaving is the one to understand first.
- Remediation inside the support fee, add-ons named and quoted: the shape for a business with a long or unknown gap list that wants one budget conversation, not two.
- Baseline controls inside every agreement, projects scoped separately: fine for a clean environment, provided the boundary between control and project is written down.
- Security bought as its own plan beside support: useful when your obligations drive the security tier, provided you model both lines at your real headcount.
- Uplift quoted before the service starts: the right answer for a short gap list and a preference for seeing every line before signing.
Questions Melbourne CFOs ask when they shortlist a managed IT provider
Who are the best managed IT providers in Melbourne for a business of about 50 staff?
For a 50-person Melbourne business that wants security in the offer, the nine providers above all fit on size, and they sort on one question: who pays to fix what the onboarding audit finds. inSUPPORT includes that remediation in the monthly support fee, with insurance, backup and awareness training quoted separately. CX IT Services publishes its prices and folds security tooling into every agreement. CTS builds Essential Eight controls into every agreement. Otto IT, KMTech, Black Lantern, Emerging IT and Computer One each answer the hours and compliance questions clearly on their sites and leave the remediation boundary to the proposal. Agile IT quotes any uplift as a separate project before the service starts and says so plainly. Pick by the model that fits your gap list, not by the adjectives.
Do I need a technical person to judge these providers?
No. Every question that decides the choice is commercial and can be answered in plain English: what the fee covers, who pays when the audit finds a problem, what hours a human answers, and whether the compliance word is aligned or certified. A provider who cannot explain its own boundary to the person paying the invoice has answered a bigger question than the one you asked. ASD's published questions for managed service providers are aimed at the provider's own security practice, so take those along too and ask how the provider secures its own house.
How long does it take to move to a new managed IT provider in Melbourne?
Plan on four to eight weeks from decision to a clean handover for a 30-to-300-user business, with the intensive technical work compressed into a much shorter stretch inside that window. inSUPPORT's own technical onboarding runs to about four hours once access to the Microsoft environment exists, and that is one slice of the job, not the whole migration. The three things to settle before you give notice are what you own, whether you can reach your own systems without the old provider, and whether a backup actually restores.
What is the first step if I am not sure what my current provider is covering?
Get an independent read of the environment before you make a decision about people. A gap analysis turns a suspicion into a list, and the list is something you can put in front of your current provider or any name on this page. inSUPPORT runs that as a Cyber Strength Audit, which assesses identity and access, patching, backup and recovery, email and endpoint security and configuration drift against the frameworks your industry uses, and returns a plain-English report with a costed path to closing the gaps. What you do with it is your call, including taking it to another provider.
Nine providers, one honest test, and the answer for your business depends on what is actually in your environment today. A Cyber Strength Audit documents where you stand against the frameworks that apply to your industry and the controls insurers expect, ranks the gaps by what would hurt, and prices the path to closing them. Kane Nawrocki has spent more than 25 years in IT, and the audit behind this page has been run more than 1,500 times. If you go on to managed support with us, the remediation it finds is in your support fee. If you go to another name on this list, you will walk in knowing exactly what to ask them to price.
Book a Cyber Strength Audit →Citations
- "Questions to ask managed service providers", Australian Signals Directorate. The five questions ASD says to put to a managed service provider about its own practice: Essential Eight implementation, secure administration, monitoring, regular assessment and incident response. Read 18 September 2026. cyber.gov.au
- "Essential Eight maturity model", Australian Signals Directorate. The source for this page's reading of the compliance words: the Essential Eight as a minimum set of preventative measures, four maturity levels from Zero to Three, the statement that there is no requirement to have an implementation certified by an independent party, and the qualifier in the same passage that an implementation may still need independent assessment where a government directive or policy, a regulatory authority or a contract requires it. Framework guidance changes; review at the next ASD update. Read 18 September 2026. cyber.gov.au
- "Annual Cyber Threat Report 2024-2025", Australian Signals Directorate. The year in review section is the source for the reporting rate of one cybercrime report every six minutes in FY2024-25, and for the small-business average self-reported cost of $56,600 per report and its 14 per cent year-on-year rise. Read 18 September 2026. cyber.gov.au
- "IT Support Pricing for Australian Business", inSUPPORT. Primary source for the three published support tiers, their hours, the separately quoted extras, and the insurance wording used in entry one. Read 18 September 2026. insupport.com.au
- "Consultation on evolution of Essential Eight", Australian Signals Directorate. The source for this page's statement that ASD has consulted on evolving the Essential Eight into a broader Essentials series, that the consultation ran until 12 July 2026, and that organisations already using the Essential Eight can expect strong alignment with their existing controls. Page first published and last updated 15 June 2026. Read 18 September 2026. cyber.gov.au
- "SMB1001 CyberCert Certification", CX IT Services. Primary source for the partner half of the SMB1001 distinction drawn in entry two: "CX IT Services is a certified CyberCert partner - we implement the required controls, guide your directors through the attestation process, and get your business formally certified at Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, or Diamond level." This page does not state a tier the firm itself holds; that statement is on the pricing page cited below. Read 18 September 2026. cxitservices.com.au
- "CX365 Pricing and Managed IT Services and Support Melbourne", CX IT Services. Primary source for the published four-part per-person model, security chosen separately from support hours, on-site visits from 30 users, the Essential Eight tiers, and the accreditation FAQ quoted in entry two: "Are you accredited? Yes. CX IT Services holds SMB1001:2026 Gold Certification and follows Level 2 of the Essential Eight framework across our service delivery." Fee amounts read, not printed. Read 18 September 2026. cxitservices.com.au
- "Managed Service Provider Australia and Managed Cyber Security Services Melbourne", Otto IT. Primary source for the Northcote headquarters, 24/7 support and security operations centre, the cybersecurity plans and Essential 8 Level 2 statement, and tailored fixed monthly pricing. The four ISO certifications and the 231-plus client figure were read on the same site's home page. Read 18 September 2026. ottoit.com.au
- "Managed IT Services and Managed Service Desk for Australian Businesses", KMTech. Primary source for the 25-to-1,000-staff band, fixed monthly pricing, the Essential Eight baseline, ISO certification, 24/7 or business-hour coverage, and large projects listed as typically not included. Read 18 September 2026. kmtech.com.au
- "Managed IT Support and Cybersecurity Melbourne", Black Lantern. Primary source for the 5-to-250-staff band, fixed per-user pricing, backups in the base rate, the not-included list, 24/7/365 answering, month-to-month terms and Essential Eight alignment. Read 18 September 2026. blacklantern.au
- "Managed IT Services Melbourne, AgileMANAGED", Agile IT. Primary source for the 5-to-50-staff band, the two tiers, the separately priced security service, uplift scoped and quoted as a separate project before the service begins, business hours and after-hours emergency cover, and SMB1001 and Essential Eight alignment. Fee amounts read, not printed. Read 18 September 2026. agileit.com.au
- "Managed IT Services, Emerging IT", Emerging IT. Primary source for the 15-plus-employee band, Melbourne and Sydney coverage, the two LANserve tiers and their columns, add-on security and 24/7 options, and 30-day rolling agreements. The Essential Eight Audit and the other named assessments were read on the same site's cyber security page. Read 18 September 2026. emergingit.com.au
- "Cyber Security Melbourne", CX IT Services. Primary source for Essential Eight alignment maintained as an ongoing managed service with quarterly maturity reviews, the 30-day rapid security uplift programme, and the statement that it completes cyber insurance questionnaires on a client's behalf. Read 18 September 2026. cxitservices.com.au
- "Otto IT home page", Otto IT. Primary source for "231+ Local Australian Clients & Counting Since 2004", the four stated ISO certifications, and the 97 per cent incident-resolution figure for 2025. Read 18 September 2026. ottoit.com.au
- "Kaine Mathrick Tech home page", KMTech. Primary source for the stated ISO 27001, 9001, 14001 and 45001 certification, Essential Eight Maturity Level 2 and beyond, the 24/7 security operations centre with SLA-backed response, and the home page's single insurance sentence, that alignment to Maturity Level 2 and beyond satisfies cyber insurance underwriters. That sentence is the home page's only one; the site carries far more, as the two citations below record. Read 18 September 2026, re-read 22 September 2026. kmtech.com.au
- "Cyber Insurance Guide for Australian Businesses", KMTech. Primary source for the cyber insurance material quoted in entry four, including the two offers under its Calls to Action heading: "Book a Cyber Risk & Insurance Readiness Review" and "Arrange a Cyber Risk & Insurance Briefing for Executives". The guide advises readers to work with an insurance broker; it does not offer to arrange cover. Page last edited 18 September 2026. Read 22 September 2026. kmtech.com.au
- "vCIO Services Australia", KMTech. Primary source for "Prepare for cyber insurance requirements" listed as a vCIO outcome, confirmed in both a plain fetch and a rendered read. Read 22 September 2026. kmtech.com.au
- "Managed IT Support and Cybersecurity Melbourne home page", Black Lantern. Primary source for the 5-to-250-staff band, backups included in the base rate, month-to-month terms, and the stated 27 years of managed services experience and five-minute average response. Read 18 September 2026. blacklantern.au
- "Cyber Security services", Black Lantern. Read across the cyber security section for the insurance question: Essential Eight alignment described as "increasingly a requirement for government tenders, cyber insurance, and enterprise contracts", and the IT consulting page's "Cyber Insurance Readiness" and "cyber insurance readiness reviews". No page offers to arrange a policy. Read 18 September 2026. blacklantern.au
- "Service Desk", Emerging IT. Primary source for the published support window quoted in entry seven: "Our Support teams are available from 7am to 7pm AEST every business day, with the option for 24-hour and weekend support if needed." This page carries the hours; the managed IT services page does not. Read 18 September 2026. emergingit.com.au
- "Cyber Security Services", Emerging IT. Primary source for the Essential Eight Audit and the named assessment services in entry seven. Read 18 September 2026. emergingit.com.au
- "Managed IT FAQs Melbourne", CTS. Primary source for the published size band quoted in entry eight: "What size businesses does CTS support?" answered with "Businesses from 10 to 200 users", a stated minimum of 10 users, and after-hours P1 critical support available 24 hours a day for managed IT clients. Read 18 September 2026. cts.au
- "Contact CTS", CTS. Primary source for the published helpdesk hours in entry eight, Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:30pm AEST. Read 18 September 2026. cts.au
- "Managed IT Services and Cybersecurity Melbourne", CTS. Primary source for the flat per-user model, Essential Eight controls built into every agreement, the 30-minute critical SLA at any hour, senior Melbourne engineers, ISO 27001 practices and the cyber insurance resources. Read 18 September 2026. cts.au
- "Managed IT Services and Support, Computer One", Computer One. Primary source for the published 50-to-1,000-staff band, the Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne offices, fixed fees under a structured agreement, 24/7 support, the 60-second service desk target, staff numbers, and Essential Eight alignment with ISO 27001 and ISO 9001 certification. Read 18 September 2026. computerone.com.au
- "Essential Eight Maturity Assessment", Computer One. Primary source for the cyber insurance material quoted in entry nine, in the FAQ answer to "How does Essential Eight compliance impact cyber insurance eligibility or premiums?" This is a service page, not industry news. Read 22 September 2026. computerone.com.au
- "Incident Response and Investigation", Computer One. Primary source for the statement in entry nine that evidence is documented forensically so it "can support any legal proceedings or insurance claims". Read 22 September 2026. computerone.com.au
Related Reading
- Managed IT Services
- Twelve Questions to Ask Your IT Provider Before You Renew
- How Long Does It Take to Change IT Providers?
- Why Your IT Support Closes When Your Shop Is Busiest
- IT Support Pricing
About the author: Kane Nawrocki is the founder and CEO of inSUPPORT. He has spent more than 25 years in IT and built inSUPPORT to give Australian businesses managed IT, security and compliance as one model, with the remediation an audit finds included in the support fee rather than billed back as a surprise project.
Content reviewed by Probably Genius for accuracy and relevance.
inSUPPORT provides managed IT and cyber security services. It is not an insurer, insurance broker or underwriter and does not hold an Australian Financial Services Licence. Where cyber insurance forms part of a plan, it is arranged through licensed insurance partners and underwritten by the insurer. Cover is subject to the insurer's assessment, the policy terms and the Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination. This article is general information about IT and security practice, not financial product advice, and it does not take account of your objectives, financial situation or needs.
CLICK HERE


